25 Following


Sharing a love of reading and books with everyone!

Darkness Rises - Dianne Duvall full review to come*review copy provided by publisher via NetGalley
Susan Mallery's Fool's Gold Cookbook: A Love Story Told Through 150 Recipes - Susan Mallery 3.5 starsThe short story was nice and filled with Mallery's trademark charm and community spirit. However, the recipes don't come across as "average" or possible for the everyday person. *review copy provided by author/tour promoter for honest thoughts
The Derby Girl (Getting Physical, #2) - Tamara Morgan 3.5 starsI liked this book but had some problems. Whitney and Fine's father came across as shady one minute and noble the other minute. I didn't know if I was supposed to like them or what.


Charming - Elliott James 3.5 starsFans of Kevin Hearne's Iron Druid series might find this book of interest. While not having as many pop culture references or a hilarious sidekick in the form of a sentient Irish wolf-hound, this book did have it's moments of sarcasm and snark that made for an interesting story. I would have liked to seen more background on Charming's character. We were only shown little bits here and there as it pertained to the story but the bigger questions--like what happened in Alaska a few years ago, why does the order really want him eliminated, and what happened in the swamps of Louisiana that set his change in motion--remained frustratingly unanswered. However, despite these questions, I have no doubt I will read the next book. Most definitely to discover what becomes of the budding romance between Charming and the Valkyrie.*review copy provided by publisher via NetGalley
Deception Cove - Jayne Castle 3.5 stars

Love and Other Scandals

Love and Other Scandals - Caroline Linden 3.5 stars
Destiny's Surrender - Beverly Jenkins The heroine of this book was the best part. Billie truly owned herself. She didn't claim to be anything other than what she was: a whore. Even better, Drew and his family didn't attempt to hide her past. They took her on her own merits and showed how courageous and compassionate she truly was.I couldn't get a good feel for what made Drew tick. I wanted to know more of his thoughts about the broken engagement, Billie as a mother, how he came to develop such tender feelings for Billie and his son. However, I realize this was more like reality since we never know what a spouse/partner is thinking. On the other hand, it was a little disappointing considering most romances show you both of the characters paths to love.*review copy provided by publisher via Edelweiss for honest review
Matchpoint - Elise Sax full review to come*review copy provided by publisher via NetGalley

True Spies

True Spies - Shana Galen Originally reviewed at Tempting ReadsTrue Spies wasn’t a bad read–Galen doesn’t do bad–it just didn’t hold my interest. I’m a character driven reader and the characters and I couldn’t relate. I kept stopping, and starting, stopping, starting; it was very easy to put it down in favor of something else. I know the problem was with me and not with any part of the story. I could tell the characters were well-rounded and the story was a very creative take on the movie, I just wasn’t feeling it.*review copy requested from publisher via NetGalley

Against the Ropes

Against the Ropes - Sarah Castille Originally reviewed at Tempting ReadsIn the beginning, there were a few elements that struck me as odd but I got over because Mac was an interesting character and the story was fun. And, if I hadn’t known this was the author’s debut book, I would have never guessed from the tone and style of the writing. However, what little elements I enjoyed were overshadowed problem moments dealing with trust and consent between sexual partners. I can’t say that I would recommend this book to people I know but I’m not unwilling to give this author another chance. I would like to see if the skeevy moments were a one-time thing or an fixed part of the author’s writing.*review copy requested from publisher via NetGalley
Toxic (Truckee Wolves, #1) - Belinda McBride I liked the idea of this book more than the execution. The short length kept the book from fully developing the characters and the story. It was hard to see the couple as a couple as they hadn't spent more than one night dating before they jumped into bed and were mated. I think there could have been more done with the couple if the story's focus hadn't shifted from the couple to the entire pack and it's background. Even worse, the circumstances of the pack and Briony's family being enemies with the same group was a little too coincidental.This story needed more content, more character development and less side stories.*review copy provided by publisher via NetGalley for honest review

Slow Summer Burn: A Loveswept Contemporary Romance

Slow Summer Burn - Elisabeth Barrett Originally reviewed at Tempting ReadsThis story, while not my favorite in the series, was a decent read. The story flowed and the characters seemed authentic in their actions and reactions. The mystery element was a little over the top, but what is life without a little drama. This is a definite read for fans of the series but I wouldn’t start with this book.*review copy won in contest sponsored by author
Canyon - Brenda Jackson Canyon rubbed me the wrong way in this story. It was hard for me to believe he and Keisha worked out their issues so quickly and reconnected as they did.

Dead Sexy Dragon (Dragon Heat, #1)

Dead Sexy Dragon - Lolita Lopez Reviewed at Tempting ReadsThis was a very disappointing tale. Not only was it too short to allow for good descriptions of the characters, it also didn’t provide a very fulfilling story. Reading this was like being on a diet of oat cakes, they fill the stomach but they’re not really that tasty. You’re left wondering what happened and in need of something else to fill you. This started off as a acquaintances/friends to lovers story but we’re not given much more than a few names on how their pasts are shared.I couldn’t even figure out why I was supposed to care that these two got together. I felt the chemistry between them but I couldn’t say whether I thought a relationship between them would last. They came together because of hormones and when the hormones wore off, they started having doubts. And if the heroine is bailing within 24 hours after swearing she loves the hero, why wouldn’t I do the same?One thing I did like was a few elements of the dragon kind history, although it didn’t make sense, especially why two factions should still be fighting over a possible human/dragon pregnancy that happened almost a THOUSAND years ago. O_o However, while the idea of a race dragons fighting against a group of humans who want to kill them is not a new one, it didn’t feel trite in this story.*review copy provided by publisher via NetGalley for honest review
He's the Man - M. Malone 3.5 starsReviewed at Tempting ReadsThe best thing about an M. Malone story is how smart they are. And that intelligence was most definitely present in this story. Penny and Matt were real characters, with real (and believable) fears. I can see exactly how and why they acted the way they did. I was right alongside of Penny and her fears for Matt’s safety being in the military. I saw Matt’s desire to do more with his life, to be somebody great. Malone does a good job, too, of portraying the seriousness facing soldier’s who have lost comrades and who have suffer serious injuries. I really liked that she didn’t attempt to fix all the associated problems in a short amount of time.I can admit towards the end, I was a little disappointed with the decision of Penny in regards to her job. She had argued with her family to pursue a career in physical therapy and worked really hard to establish a reputation of helping people to throw it away so callously. I know the intent was to show how far she had come in overcoming her fears and building a life with Matt but it did feel a little odd to me. I wanted Penny to have it all–the man, the career and the family.Regardless, this book was a wonderful contemporary romance, it had heart, family, romance, and passion. Fans of Bella Andre or Brenda Jackson are sure to enjoy this book.*review copy provided by request via NetGalley
How to Marry a Highlander - Katharine Ashe Originally reviewed at Tempting ReadsI was of two minds when reading this story. I admired Teresa and her determination to find happiness and take charge of her life. Do I think she could have gone about it better? Yes, but then this book wouldn’t have been written. I liked Duncan as well. Although not as extroverted as Teresa, you could tell he was confident and caring. Probably more so with his sisters than he should have been!I was a tad disappointed that we got to see all but one of the sisters get settled. I understood this was a novella and that doesn’t leave a lot of room for extra character development, but still! What about Sorcha? Does she settle down happily to run Duncan’s estate while he and Teresa live out their lives in London? Will she get her own book later? I would have liked to seen some sort of definitive conclusion for her.I can’t say that it was the best place to start for those unfamiliar with the Falcon Club series. This book mentioned references to incidents and people in Duncan’s past I had no frame of reference for. Still, I did enjoy this story and, having read it, will be more apt to pick up another Ashe title.*review copy provided by author/promoter for honest review